[AWARD] von Kaven Award


Deadline 2020-01-31

for outstanding EU-based mathematician


The DFG presents the von Kaven Award to EU-based mathematicians for their outstanding scientific achievements. The prize is intended to help them in their mathematical research. Provided that no other suitable nominations are submitted, the von Kaven Award is given to the previous year’s best-performing mathematical researcher in the Heisenberg Programme.

Number and Value of Awards

The von Kaven Award includes prize money of 10,000 euros. The funds are provided by the von Kaven Foundation, which was established by mathematician Herbert von Kaven and is managed by the DFG.


Researchers may be nominated by the members of the mathematics review board, its former chairpersons, and members of the DFG’s statutory bodies in the field of mathematics (members of the Senate and the Senate Committees working in mathematics). Candidates cannot apply directly for the von Kaven Award.

Selection Criteria

The scientific excellence of the nominee

Selection of Prizewinners

The recipient of the von Kaven Award is selected in accordance with the Foundation’s statutes by the DFG’s mathematics review board during its annual meeting.

Nomination Deadlines

31 January each year